BLESSING OF THE COMBINES

Yesterday was a big day in my hometown. It was the annual blessing of the combines. It is held on the 1st sat. of August and this time it was HOT HOT!!!! Around 95 in the shade. combines.jpgWe participated in the parade down main street. That was so much fun, the sidewalks were full of people, ones that I graduated with and some that I haven’t seen in ages. The looks on their faces were priceless when they looked at our antique tractor and then spied me on the sulky on the back. I don’t know how many times I was asked”Are you the real driver?” Yea Yea !! LOL!! After the parade the combines and the tractors are parked on the streets downtown. Those combines litterally take up the whole street and are as tall as some of the buildings. There were speakers, singers, food, food, food, or did I mention FOOD!!! The pastors said a blessing over the combines and the crops to be harvested. That was so neat. They had a judging of the tractors too. We got the trophy for that. I wonder was my sulky the one that really won it????

100_0228.jpgI really don’t think so said my hubby, I guess not because she (Allie-yes the tractor has a name, short for Allis Chalmers)can pull her weight anytime. Ok Ok.. After the blessing program the antique tractor pull was held that night, and of course we had to stay because my step-son was going to enter his antique tractor for the pull for the first time. He did great, pulling 3rd place. Not bad for someone who hasn’t been on a tractor, let alone pull with one. I guess good ole dad is rubbing off on him after all.LOL All in all it was a good day, I was tired, tired, dirty, dirty, filthy feet and wore out. But I love it. Crazy huh???

Leave a Reply

