HUNTING TIME AGAIN

As I sit here at my computer this early morning, it is quiet and peaceful. Hubby left earlier in a flurry of coats, coffee Thermos,etc. for the big hunt today. Are you sure you don’t want to go with us today? he asked. No I don’t think so, I smile sweetly, maybe next time. Silently saying to my self ; 1: to many men in pickups and on the blacktop talking “their talk.” They don’t need a woman around where they have to watch what they say or how they say it. That good ole male bonding ya know?!

2: I AM GOING SHOPPING

Now I have been fox hunting with them and it is good fun. It’s not like it is in the pictures this is real country kind of hunting. All you need is: a pickup (got to be 4wheel drive)- a CB radio (can’t talk back and forth without one)- plenty of coffee (some home-baked goodies to share would be nice too!)-long johns ( it’s cold riding with the windows down!)-have your own or have  friends that have plenty of fox hounds; preferably around 30 or so. Now you are all set. It is a sight to be riding down a country road and hear a pack of hounds hot on the scent, and rounding the corner see a pack of pickups waiting for the fox and the hounds to come tearing out of the woods into the fields. There they go Max fire up the truck and follow after them. I need my camera some time to capture that. 21369251zmhlktzpqs_th.jpg

Now I have been rabbit hunting several time, as we own several rabbit dogs. Currently we have 4 in the kennel, but that changes as the seasons change, we can have as many as 10  in the kennel house or as little as 3, I just never know. It depends if there is an AKC field trial going on as to how many we have. Training a little one is fun. Taking her out with the pack or just her momma to let her get the feel of hunting is so cute. If the pack picks up a scent and turns out she will cock her head and listen, look to us as if to say”What’s that Jerry? Maybe I better go and see what’s going on, I’ll be back!” Off she goes and then about 5 minutes later she is back; “I just came to see if you two were still here, I better stay around you and protect you,OK?.  After she is about 1yr she will go tearing after them hot on the hunt. It seem that the light-bulb kicks in and she knows what she is to do. It is really amazing.hot_pursuit-thumb.jpg

My how my life has changed and I am loving every minute of it; Thank you Lord Jesus, I will never, ever take it for granted again.

Leave a Reply

