TOOT-TOOT

THIS WILL BE THE LAST TIME THAT I TOOT MY HORN!  HA! HA! I JUST COULDN’T RESIST.

I HAVE BEEN JUST OVERWHELMED THIS WEEKEND.  I ENTERED MY HOMETOWN COUNTY FAIR

AND DECIDED ON A LARK TO ENTER THE BAKING DIVISION. I ENTERED 2 CAKES AND 1 PIE.

IT SURE WAS HECTIC THE TUES. BEFORE WITH BAKING. HUBBY SAID THAT IT WASN’T FAIR TO

JUST BE ABLE TO SMELL THE GOODIES BUT NOT TASTE THEM!  I RUSHED THEM OVER ON WED.

NIGHT AFTER WORK, AND ALL THAT WAS LEFT WAS TO WAIT, AND WAIT AND WAIT. THE JUDGING

WAS ON THURS. MORN. BUT I COULDN’T FIND OUT ANYTHING UNTIL FRI OR SAT. THAT WAS HARD.

THE CAKE AUCTION WAS HELD ON FRI. NIGHT AND ALL THE CAKES AND PIES WERE TO BE SOLD THEN.

I FIGURED THAT IT WOULDN’T BE ANYTHING GREAT SO I DIDN’T GO.  BUT MY PARENTS DID. BOY OH BOY

DID SOMETHING HAPPEN THERE. MY DAD WAS SO EXCITED WHEN HE CALLED ME AT 9:30 PM. “YOU

DON’T KNOW WHAT YOU MISSED!” HE SAID. MY APPLESAUCE CAKE WON 1ST PRIZE AND SOLD FOR

$35.00.  NOT BAD, I THOUGHT. DAD SAID THAT THEY WAITED ALL THROUGH OUT THE OTHER CAKES AND

PIES WONDERING WHAT HAPPENED TO THE OTHER. THEN IT HAPPENED!  THEY ANNOUNCED THAT THE

NEXT CAKE TO BE AUCTIONED OFF WAS THE “GRAND CHAMPION-BEST IN SHOW CAKE” AND IT WAS MADE

BY MEEE!!!!  DAD ALMOST FELL OUT OF HIS CHAIR! THE BIDDING WAS FAST AND FURIOUS AND FINALLY

STOPPED AT $150.00!  WOW!  WOW! EVERYONE WAS SO EXCITED THAT THEY STOOD UP AND CLAPPED!

I WISH I HAD BEEN THERE. BUT AM TICKLED THAT MY PARENTS WERE THERE. I DON’T HAVE A PIC OF

THE CAKE BUT I HAVE A PIC OF THE ANNOUNCEMENT AND RIBBONS. I GUESS I AM KINDA PROUD AND

SURELY TIRED, TIRED TIRED!! NO MORE TIL NEXT YEAR PLEASE.

3 Comments »

  1. 1
    Trish Says:

    WOOT WOOT Congrats! I think for Christmas you need to make these 2 so we can taste them!

  2. 2
    elise Says:

    wow! that is so awesome – congrats!

  3. 3
    christina Says:

    Mother that is wonderful. How exciting it must have been for mom and pop to hear that you won. I wish I had seen their faces. Bet very proud of you. And so am I.

    love ya!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

