STANDING IN THE GAP

  • I’LL STAND IN THE GAP FOR MY SON.
  • I’LL STAND ‘TILL THE VICTORY’S WON.
  • THIS ONE THING I KNOW
  • THAT YOU LOVE HIM SO
  • AND YOUR WORK WITH MY CHILD IS NOT DONE/
  • I’LL STAND IN THE GAP EVERY DAY,
  • AND THERE I WILL FERVENTLY PRAY.
  • AND LORD JUST ONE FAVOR
  • DON’T LET ME WAVER
  • IF THINGS GET QUITE ROUGH, WHICH THEY MAY.
  • I’LL NEVER GIVE UP ON THAT BOY.
  • NOR WILL YOU, FOR YOU PROMISED HIM JOY.
  • FOR I KNOW IT WAS TRUE
  • WHEN HE SAID”YES” TO YOU,
  • THOUGH THE ENEMY SEEKS TO DESTROY.
  • I’LL NOT QUIT AS I INTERCEDE,
  • FOR YOU ARE HIS SAVIOR, INDEED!
  • THOUGH IT MAY TAKE YEARS,
  • I GIVE YOU MY FEARS,
  • AS I TRUST EVERY MOMENT I PLEAD.
  • AND SO IN THE GAP I WILL STAND,
  • HEEDING YOUR EVERY COMMAND,
  • WITH HELP FROM ABOVE,
  • I’LL UNCONDITIONALLY LOVE,
  •  AND SOON HE WILL REACH FOR YOUR HAND!

      POEM BY SHIRLEY POPE WAITE

THIS PRAYER HAS BEEN ON MY VANITY MIRROR SO THAT I CAN PRAY THIS EVERYDAY. AS I READ IT AGAIN, I REALIZE THAT IT CAN BE FOR EACH OF OUR CHILDREN. THIS IS MY WAY OF ASKING THE LORD TO SHOW FAVOR AND KEEP THEM SAFE. I DON’T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING OUT IN THE WORLD, BUT I CAN ONLY HOPE THAT THEY REALIZE THAT HE IS STILL THERE WAITING FOR THEIR OUTSTRETCHED HAND. I ALSO KNOW IN MY HEART OF HEARTS THAT THE TEACHINGS OF THEIR YOUTH WILL NEVER LEAVE THEIR HEARTS AND THAT SOMEDAY THEY WILL COME HOME TO HIM. PRAISE THE LORD.

9 Comments »

  1. 1
    Judy Davison Says:

    You have no idea how this “prayer poem” has meant to me. It helped carry me through a rough time with my son. I know it by heart and I recently printed it and gave it to another mother who son has been a struggle for her. God is with us always and what a blessing.

    Thank you

  2. 2
    Kathi Torok Says:

    Like others I have a son who is now a young man and going his own way. This prayer is a nightly ritual for me and I thank God for this mother who wrote it because it speaks to and from my own heart.

  3. 3
    Krista Says:

    I have 3 sons who accepted the Lord in their “tweens”.
    They all belonged to youth group and attended church regularly. Now, as young men, they have strayed from God and have made choices that have taken them down the wrong path.
    When I found this poem in my Bible, I cried. I knew it would be my daily prayer for my boys. I pray this poem
    at least twice a day and I know that God keeps his promises. In His timing, they will return to Him.
    Thank you Shirley for your wisdom and your heart for the Lord.

  4. 4

    The author of this poem, Shirley Waite, recited this poem for me today while we ate pastries and drank tea. She is a prolific, inspirational writer, and this poem resonates for every single mother who prays for each of her children, for any reason. God bless you, Shirley!

  5. 5
    Nina Wiesenekker, 1 Baxter crescent forest Lake 4078 QLD Australia Says:

    Dear Shirley I am in the process of writing a book about my son who has passed away. I know he is with The Lord. The poem Standing in the Gap has meant so much to me and I am wondering if I could use in poem in my book , giving full acknowledgement to you. Thank you Nina

  6. 6

    I need permission to use this poem in a book I’m producing which is actually written by ministry ladies across this country…a preachers wife who has a wayward son used this poem in her writing. How do I get Shirley’s permission?

    • 7
      Sondy Says:

      Shirley. I. Need your permission to use your poem in a book. That I am writing for my son’s.

  7. 8

    Slopet / Wikipedia CCL10Father Wladyslaw Augustynka stadium in Poland, home of Sandecja Nowy S?czGet.

  8. 9

    City boss Pep Guardiola put his faith in Bravo after freezing out Joe Hart who looks like his career is over at the Etihad.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a comment